Skip to main content

June 16, 2023 (Kampala, Uganda): Ministers responsible for Refugee Affairs from Member States of the Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and Partner States of the East African Community (EAC) have signed the Munyonyo Declaration on Durable Solutions for Refugees in the East and Horn of Africa.

Convening in Munyonyo, Kampala on 16 June 2023 following the IGAD-EAC High Level Ministerial Conference on Durable Solutions on Refugees in the Horn and East Africa which was hosted by the Government of Uganda from 13th – 16th June 2023 and in the presence of international and regional partners, Members States agreed to work together on addressing the root causes and drivers of forced displacement in IGAD and EAC regions.

Member states made concessions addressing areas of violence and conflicts; natural disasters and adverse effects of climate change; and Protection, maintaining asylum space and rights of refugees as enshrined in international and continental frameworks to be applied in national and regional policy frameworks;

The declaration also addresses issues of Government-led whole-of-society approaches; Socio-economic inclusion; Return and reintegration; Resettlement; local integration; on Partnership, Burden and Responsibility Sharing; and the humanitarian-development-peace nexus.

The IGAD and EAC Member States also made resolutions on the joint IGAD-EAC Multi-Stakeholder Regional Durable Solutions Pledge to the forthcoming Global Refugee Forum in December 2023.

The 11 Member States that endorsed the declaration are; Republic of Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Republic of Djibouti, State of Eritrea, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda, Federal Republic of Somalia, Republic of South Sudan, Republic of Sudan and Republic of Uganda.

The signing of the declaration was witnessed by H.E Fathia Alwan, the Representative of the IGAD Executive Secretary, H.E Dr. Irene Isaka, the Representative of the EAC Secretary General, Mr. Michel Nshimba, Representing H.E. Mrs. Minata Samate Cessouma, the African Union Commissioner for Health, Humanitarian Affairs and Social Development, H.E Ambassador Yasir Mohammed representing the Executive Secretary of the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR).

International Partners that were present during the signing include H.E Susan Namondo Ngongi, the UN Resident Coordinator for Uganda, H.E Ambassador Mohamed Abdi Affey Special Envoy for Horn of Africa at UNHCR, H.E Tejan Sanusi Savage, the IOM Chief of Mission for Uganda, H.E Benjamin Reese, Representative of the World Bank, H.E Alexio Musindo, Regional Director for ILO, H.E John W. Barbian, representing the US Embassy, H.E Ambassador Hidemoto Fukuzawa of the Government of Japan and Co-Convenor of the Global Refugee Forum 2023 Geneva Switzerland.

Representatives of Refugees and Representatives of Host Local Governments were also present.

Download the signed Declaration in English and French

2023 IGAD – EAC Ministerial Declaration on Durable Solutions for Refugees (English)

2023 IGAD – EAC Ministerial Declaration on Durable Solutions for Refugees (French)

Close Menu