Saturday, May 30, 2020

The Independent Boundaries Commission (IBC) has completed a two-day meeting in Juba as it commenced its work aimed at considering the number of states of the Republic of South Sudan, their boundaries, and the composition and restructuring of the Council of States.

On Monday the IGAD Special Envoy to South Sudan Ambassador Ismail Weis officially established the IBC, which is one of the key institutions set up under the Revitalised Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (R-ARCSS).

The IBC is chaired by Ambassador Thembi Majola of South Africa and consists of four other members from the African Union High Level Ad Hoc Committee on South Sudan, five representatives from the incumbent government, two from the SPLM/A-IO, and one each from the South Sudanese Opposition Alliance (SSOA), Former Detainees (FD), and the Other Political Parties (OPP).

In the coming days the IBC is expected to receive and consider a report from the Technical Boundary Committee (TBC), which was tasked with defining and demarcating the tribal areas of South Sudan as they stood on 1 January 1956, and the tribal areas in dispute in the country. In addition, it is expected to consult with various stakeholders, and other South Sudanese as well as subject matter experts, as it works on coming up with recommendations on the number of states and their boundaries.

The IBC is expected to continue its work to the end of the Pre-Transitional period. Once complete, it will submit its report to the IGAD Executive Secretariat to be enshrined in the R-ARCSS as an addendum.




South Sudan Cessation of Hostilities Agreement


Latest IGAD Communiqué